#WEB206 – What do you use? How do you organise stuff you find on the net?

TUTOR:

What do you use?
Do you use Delicious? Weebly? RSS? How do you organise stuff you find on the net?
Or are you like me and just have masses of bookmarks that you cannot make sense of?

MY RESPONSE:

Oh my! As a former librarian, this is such a huge question!

I love my RSS feeds – I use Feedly to manage all my pre-determined topics, all organised alphabetically. I also maintain more than one presence, alter-egos, if you will. So, each one of those has their own RSS feeds, according the interests I explore individually for each.

I use both Diigo and Delicious, but am finding Diigo to be more user-friendly when working in the context that I do – the tertiary sector.

live in the cloud, so have a multitude of folders containing my work and the information I find along the way. Google Drive is my pal at the moment… since I use about 5 Gmail accounts, I have more than enough storage for such information to follow me about and be at my beck and call when needed. I also have about the same amount of blogs (Weebly, WordPress, Tumblr, Blogger, Twitter).

I am so anal about information that I curate it through other means – I use Scoop.it, Pinterest and, less often, Instagram. But, Twitter is more highly used, as I can gather and curate on the go with a tweet.

I’m a follower on Academia.edu and ResearchGate so that I can keep abreast of all developments in research and papers published by academics and professors from other universities.

I’m also on LinkedIn to stay in touch with colleagues. But its main purpose is to discuss topics with others working in the same contexts via the ‘Groups’ feature. Also, good to see the kind of jobs that are on offer out there, to make me feel like I’m keeping my finger on the pulse, so to speak.

Finally, it’s not unusual for me to harness all these outlets using Hootsuite, TweetDeck or Buffer.

(Tutor)… are you sure that librarians are still your most favourite people in the world?LOL We can be a weird bunch of people…

===============

Just watched the lecture for this week and noticed that Google was mentioned. I wanted to add a few points that some might find helpful…

Google is a beast. It’s everywhere. “It’s the noun that became a verb

I mentioned Google Drive in my previous post earlier today, Our tutor mentioned Google Scholar too – a great service to find “the better” information out there. But, along the Google vein, I also set up news alerts with Google, which is where you want to run a search over and over again if the topic you’ve chosen tends to update its information regularly. So in the Advanced Search features of Google, which is found in the sprocket/cog icon, you can set up an alert, run it every day/week/month/year/etc. and have the results emailed to you regularly if you find it useful.

Also, Google Groups are handy for getting in touch with others who possess similar interests… although I find that using Google+ and joining G+ communities around topics of interest are an even better source for tapping into the latest info around a subject.

Our tutor also mentioned the library’s electronic databases… when you run a search on a topic (always try advanced searches to get more specific if you need to), if you find that you’re happy with the types of results you’re seeing… perhaps even if you see a particular journal popping up with the best info for your needs… you can set up a journal alert in most databases…. SAGE as well, if you want to take our tutor’s advice and use that one too. The journal alert will ask for your email address and with email you with the Table of Contents and sometimes accompanying abstracts, so you’ll always know what the latest issue of your fave journal will contain and decide if you want to investigate further.

Hope this helps people… sorry folks… former librarian… love sharing and caring…

About Maha @ Uni

Studying online, and want to keep a record of my progress and experiences...
This entry was posted in #WEB206, Aggregation, Blogs, Cloud Computing, Curation, Google, Online Identity, Productivity Tools, RSS, RSS Readers, Social Media, Social Networks, Twitter, Web Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

